Universities in the Region

The region offers a wide range of opportunities for training future workforce at secondary vocational schools as well as universities.

Naturally, the greatest number of options are available in the largest cities of the region, such as Košice, Prešov, or Michalovce. The district towns of Eastern Slovakia offer a suffcient number of 4-year and 8-year grammar school study programmes focused on foreign languages, sports, information technology, or programming. The vocational schools in the region offer study  programmes in the fields of construction, mechanical and electrical engineering, wood science and engineering, agriculture, and health care, as well as gastronomy, tourism, economics, and banking. In addition to quality secondary schools, the network of educational facilities in the regions of East Slovakia also includes five Universities, namely:



 Technical University of Košice

The Technical University of Košice is a public university covering a wide range of educational needs within and beyond the region of East Slovakia.

In many fields, it is the only science, research and education centre of its kind in Slovakia or even in the Central European area.


 Pavol Jozef Šafárik University in Košice

Covering the three main cycles of university education, the University offers Bachelor-, Master-, PhD-level study programmes in a variety of fields. All courses are provided in both Slovak and English.

Pavol Jozef Šafárik University in Košice provides higher education based on the latest scientific findings in a wide international context. The University co-operates closely with a number of academic institutions all around the world.


 The University of Veterinary Medicine and Pharmacy in Košice

The University of Veterinary Medicine and Pharmacy in Košice is the only institution in the Slovak Republic offering higher education programmes in the veterinary field.

The University has been providing veterinary education in English for 25 years and currently offers two English study programmes: a 6-year degree programme for secondary-school graduates and a 4-year degree post-BSc programme for students with Bachelor degrees in agricultural, veterinary or biological sciences, both of which lead towards the degree of Doctor of Veterinary Medicine (DVM). The University includes the following departments and clinics:



 The University of Prešov

In Prešov, the second largest city in the Eastern Slovakia region, the beginnings of university education are linked with the Greek-Catholic Theological Academy founded in 1818.

Today the university consists of 8 faculties which offer numbers of accredited study programmes in all three degrees (Bachelor, Magister/Master, Doctor ). The University of Prešov has been developing intense research activities and also operates centres of excellence. A wide range of courses and educational products are offered by The Centre of Competences and Lifelong Learning. In addition to the University of Prešov, the private University of International Business ISM Slovakia has operated in the city since 2005.


 The University of Economics in Bratislava, Faculty of Business Economics in Košice

Besides 7 faculties situated in the capital of the Slovak Republic, the University also has one faculty based in Košice.

Located in Košice, the Faculty of Business Economics is a scientific and educational institution training students who will be able to work for various businesses, institutions, or government bodies. Primarily focused on practical skills, the Faculty seeks to train students into highly-qualified, flexible, and independent professionals who will be able to engage in a relatively wide range of economic activities. The Faculty’s science and research activities revolve around six basic pillars: